Annual Science Awards Winners Elected

Annual Science Awards Winners ElectedIn early March, 2015 Lithuanian Science Awards Commission announced the winners of the Lithuanian Science Awards 2014. Three awards out of six will go to VU scientists.

Two awards were assigned in Physical sciences and both of them will be presented to VU teams: the first will go to Daumantas Čiplys, Romualdas Rimeika and Vytautas Samulionis for the cycle "Radio frequency acoustic waves in ferroelectric crystals, wide band gap semiconductors and in nanostructured structures".

The second award will go to one more team of VU Physical scientists: Ramūnas Garunkštis and Antanas Laurinčikasfor the cycle "Zeta function. Versatility, zeros and moments".

Two awards were assigned in Biomedical and agricultural sciences, the first of which will go to VU scientists - Giedrius Sasnauskas, GintautasTamulaitis and Mindaugas Zaremba for the cycle "New target-specific endonucleases interaction with DNA regulation and catalytic mechanisms".

The remaining three awards will go to the teams of scientists from the Lithuanian University of Educational Sciences, Kaunas University of Technology and Lithuanian Research Centre for Agriculture and Forestry.

Every year, up to 7 Lithuanian Science Awards are presented to scientists in humanities and social, physical, biomedical and agricultural sciences.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies. More information