ARQUS European University Alliance

Arqus activities continue remotely

The world health crisis caused by the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak and the emergency measures in place in all of our countries mean that all of our Arqus universities are currently without face-to-face teaching activities and in most cases have temporarily ceased all other face-to-face activities, with our staff and students working and studying from home.
We are in the process of adapting the organization of our Arqus workflow and work plan to this exceptional situation to be able to continue with those activities it is possible to maintain from our homes.

Our pace has slowed down, as many of us must also look after our health and families, but the activities are still in progress.

Arqus universities, as part of their social commitment, are putting their resources at the disposal of the health authorities in to help in coping with the situation of the national health systems. Likewise, part of the research carried out in our universities will contribute to fight against the virus.

At this time, it is critical to keep united, coordinated and aligned with the best practices we have to pursue.

We will keep you informed of any news on this regard as well as on any new outcome reached.

Stay healthy and positive!

About Arqus

The Arqus European University Alliance brings together the universities of Bergen, Granada, Graz, Leipzig, Lyon, Padova and Vilnius, seven longstanding comprehensive research universities who share extensive experience in joint projects and a common profile as internationalised institutions with deep regional engagement in medium-sized cities.

Arqus aspires to build on the member universities’ sound prior experience in cooperation in order to achieve a high level of integration in its members’ policies and action plans in order to: 

• enhance the education of critically engaged European and global citizens who are able and willing to contribute to a multicultural, multilingual and inclusive Europe which is open to the world;

• increase and improve the joint research capacity of the partner universities;

• better respond to the grand societal challenges of the 21st century in Europe and beyond.

The principal ambition of the Arqus European University Alliance is to act jointly as a laboratory for institutional learning from which to move forward in the design, testing and implementation of an innovative model for deep inter-university cooperation. 

The Arqus European University Alliance was formally established in Brussels on 27 November 2018 when the rectors and presidents of our member institutions signed a Memorandum of Understanding in order to strengthen the cooperative links which already exist between and among us.

Action Lines 

Arqus will focus on the following action lines:

For more information about the alliance please visite this website.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies. More information